WanderLust

Bees can’t comprehend how busy I’ve been.

Posted on: 12/08/2011

Work has been a handful since one of colleagues left very suddenly, leaving two of us to split some work. This means one and a half persons work to be done each day! However as all deadlines for the weekend was yesterday (Thursday) I am happily taking the time out to blog because I haven’t updated for quite some time and I feel that it is my duty to do so just for the fun of doing some writing (which I haven’t done in awhile and miss terribly).

I usually take a break in between my duties so I always get started on something else with a clear head. For the past two weeks it hasn’t been this way. I would continue to do what I’ve been doing and a few new emails will pop up with more stuff! When I’m done with half of those, a few new ones will pop up yet again so this means no breaks in between, work all the way through. I even have lunch while doing work sometimes because I know that if I don’t, I’ll be swamped after lunch time is over.

What’s worse was my colleague left to go for a music festival that she’s already bought tickets for. For four days, I was doing the work of three people! It was daunting and stressful to the point where I forgot to eat lunch. BUT – I took it as a challenge and I got through it. It’s an awesome personal achievement (although there were moments where I want to break down and cry while pulling my hair out in frustration) which gives me great pride in knowing that I can take the pressure and I can probably work very well – if not better – under pressure.

With my current predicament, it’s no surprise why I come home tired every evening. During the weekends, I can be seen vegetating at home. The call of the city and things to see just wasn’t even appealing anymore.

Unhealthy? Yes, I’d like to think so. My remedy is to visit the city to see the sights and enjoy myself as much as possible.

The only thing more unhealthy is having a day at work that’s not so busy. I feel as if I’m not productive enough and seek for things to do. And when that’s done, I don’t know what else I can do to make myself more useful. 

I realise that I am getting very accustomed to the feeling of being busy – and liking it. This is a disastrous recipe for a workaholic! Outcome would be awesome because I’ll have A LOT of things done. Downside would be burning out from doing many many things without taking the time to relax and unwind. There’s got to be a balance and I need to find one!

Leave a Reply

Day by Day

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Post by Post

Feedjit – Live Traffic Feed

